Skip to main content

Take Action --- from 2007 session

HELP OUR BILL PASS!

1. If your Senator is on the committee that voted SB 211 down this session, please send a letter or email expressing thanks for or disappointment with their vote. Committee members and their votes are listed below.

2. Please send letters to the editor of your local paper, expressing both your disappointment with the vote and your confidence that this unfavorable vote is not the end. Below are links to some coverage, but you can write to your paper whether they covered the vote or not. Let every legislator know that Marylanders are watching and we expect their vote next year! If you need help drafting a letter, please do not hesistate to write to info@mdcase.org or call our office at (301) 779-5230.

SB 211 SENATE COMMITTEE VOTE COVERAGE:

Washington Post
Bill Fails to Repeal Death Penalty: Senate Committee Deadlocked in MD

Baltimore Sun
Death Penalty Repeal Fails

Frederick News-Post
Death Penalty Bill Fails

Southern Maryland Online
Bill to End Death Penalty in MD Dealt Setback

 

LEGISLATORS WHO NEED TO HEAR FROM YOU:

Sen. Brian Frosh (D-16, Committee chair) - FAVORABLE, PLEASE THANK

Miller Senate Office Building, 2 East Wing
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3124, (301) 858-3124
e-mail: brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Lisa Gladden (D-41, Committee vice-chair) - FAVORABLE, PLEASE THANK

Miller Senate Office Building, 2 East Wing
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3697, (301) 858-3697
e-mail: lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Jennie Forehand (D-17) - FAVORABLE, PLEASE THANK

James Senate Office Building, Room 223
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1991
(410) 841-3134, (301) 858-3134
e-mail: jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Nancy Jacobs - absent

Sen. Jamie Raskin (D-20) - FAVORABLE, PLEASE THANK

James Senate Office Building, Room 122
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3634, (301) 858-3634
e-mail: jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Bryan Simonaire (R-31) - UNFAVORABLE, EXPRESS DISAPPOINTMENT

Miller Senate Office Building, Room 401
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3658, (301) 858-3658
e-mail: bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Anthony Muse (D-26) - FAVORABLE, PLEASE THANK

James Senate Office Building, Room 304
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3092, (301) 858-3092
e-mail: anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Alex Mooney (R-3) - UNFAVORABLE, EXPRESS DISAPPOINTMENT

James Senate Office Building, Room 402
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1991
(410) 841-3575, (301) 858-3575
e-mail: alex.mooney@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Jim Brochin (D-42) - UNFAVORABLE, EXPRESS DISAPPOINTMENT

James Senate Office Building, Room 221
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1991
(410) 841-3648, (301) 858-3648
e-mail: jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Norman Stone (D-6) - UNFAVORABLE, EXPRESS DISAPPOINTMENT

James Senate Office Building, Room 216
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3587, (301) 858-3587
e-mail: norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

Sen. Larry Haines (R-5) - UNFAVORABLE, EXPRESS DISAPPOINTMENT

James Senate Office Building, Room 316
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3683, (301) 858-3683
e-mail: larry.haines@senate.state.md.us